About the Institution

Maharshi Dayanand University, ab initio establishedas Rohtak University, Rohtak, came into existence by an Act No. 25 of 1975 of the Haryana Legislative Assembly in 1976  with the objective to promote inter-disciplinary higher education and research in the fields of environmental, ecological and life sciences. It was rechristened as Maharshi Dayanand University in 1977 after the name of a great visionary and social reformer, Maharshi Dayanand.  It had a unitary and residential character in its nascent stage, but became an affiliating University in November 1978. The University secured the recognition of University Grants Commission – the higher education regulatory body of India – for central Govt. grants in 16 Mar, 1979.

The University is located at Rohtak in the state of Haryana – about 75 kms from Delhi on Delhi-Hisar National Highway (NH-10), and is about 240 kms from Chandigarh, the State Capital. It is well connected both by rail as well as road. Rohtak is the education hub of the State with excellent facilities for  education in all fields of knowledge.

About the Moot

The Moot Court Society of MDU-CPAS is organising the third edition of the Moot Court Competition that will be held between 21st and 22nd of March, 2020. The moot proposition is themed around raging issues in criminal law.

Last day for institutional registration is 07th March 2020.


The competition is open for students pursuing B.A.L.L.B. or L.L.B. courses from recognized universities and colleges.

Team Composition

Each team shall consist of three members ( two speakers and one researcher). There shall be, under no circumstance whatsoever, that a team consisting of more than 3 members be allowed to participate. No observer/additional member can be part of a team in any capacity.


MDU-CPAS, Sector 40, Opposite Police Station, Gurugram, India.

Registration Details

A registration fee of Rs.4500/- is to be sent by way of Demand Draft drawn in favor of “DIRECTOR MDU-CPAS”, payable at Gurugram along with the registration form.

Registration particulars as soft copy and scanned copy of DD should be sent by e-mail to EMAIL “3rd NATIONAL MOOT COURT COMPETITION 2020” as the subject of the mail latest by 10TH MARCH 2020. The body of the mail should also contain the details of team members (All three) such as Name, Contact Number, Email Id, Role.

Important Dates

14 FEBRUARYRelease of Moot Proposition
14 FEBRUARYRegistration Open
07 MARCHLast Date of Registration
14 MARCHLast Date Memorial Submission (Soft Copy)
18 MARCHLast Date Memorial Submission (Hard Copy)
21 MARCHRegistration, Draw of Lots, Memorial Exchange
21 MARCHInauguration, Prelim Round I
21 MARCHPrelim Round II & Quarter Finals
22 MARCHSemi-Finals, Finals, Valediction Programme

Contact Details

Faculty Convener: Dr. G.S Chauhan, 09811346171

Organising Secretary: Dr. Kailash Kumar, 09212704898

Student Conveners

Deepanshu Dudeja: 8285095227 (deepanshu.snob[at]gmail.com )

Chhavi Goyal: 9911515887

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *